Larry Collins Prize

The Larry Collins Prize is awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay written by a student attending a university in Atlantic Canada.  

Dr. Larry Collins

The prize is named after Dr. Larry Collins who was an Associate Professor of Political Science at St. Francis Xavier University. He received a BA and MA from San Jose State University and completed a PhD at Carleton University in 1974. His main fields of expertise were International Relations and American Politics. He played a leading role in establishing the Atlantic Provinces Political Science Association, twice serving as its president. As a teacher, he was known to have an incredible rapport with his students and was described as a person who stood for integrity, compassion, simplicity, and good humour. He died tragically in an accidental drowning in the American Midwest in 1981. His eminent good nature, dedication to his discipline, and fellow political scientists were much admired by all his colleagues and inspired the naming of this award in his honour.

Larry Collins Prize Winners
2022 – Kelsey Shaw (University of New Brunswick)
2021 – Max Gustafson (Acadia University)
2020 – Kenya Thompson (Mount Saint Vincent University)
2019 – Elizabeth Matheson (St. Thomas University)
2018 – Rachel McNally (Acadia University)
2017 – Isalean Phillip (Saint Mary’s University)